2021 ILCA 6 World Championships – Day 5

Muscat, Oman – Three races were completed today on the penultimate day of the 2021 ILCA 6 World Championships. Although Oman delivered another light and shifty day, the sailors had a shorter waiting time before the race committee could get three races off successfully. Consistent with the previous days of the championship, the leaderboard showed another mix-up and close points after today’s racing in challenging conditions.

In the women’s fleet, Denmark’s Olympic gold medalist Anne-Marie Rindom slipped past into first overall, just one point ahead of Poland’s Agata Barwinska. Greece’s Vasileia Karachaliou sits in third 23 points behind Barwinska, but only one point ahead of Lithuania’s Viktorija Andrulyte and four points ahead of Belgian Emma Plasschaert. Everyone has had mixed results due to the conditions, and the three notable winners of today’s races were Maxime Jonker of the Netherlands, Marie Barrue of France, and Australia’s Mara Stransky who now holds seventh place overall.

December 5th, 2021 ILCA 6 (Radial) World Championship, Al Mussanah, Day 5. Oman, 29 November – 6 December 2021 © Sander van der Borch / Lloyd Images / Oman Sail

In the men’s division, ALMuatasim Al Farsi is still in the lead, but Slovenia’s Nik Pletikos has managed to close the gap with two second-place finishes and one first, and he now sits only one point behind in second. Turkey’s Umut Eyriparmak secured third after today with two more first-place finishes under his belt. AbdulMalik Al Hinai of Oman is in fourth and Estonia’s Karel Ratnik climbed into fifth place.

With one day to go at the World Championships, and given how the sailors have performed thus far, the final day will show strong and very tight competition. For more information and full results, see here.  

ILCA 6 Women’s

  1. Anne-Marie Rindom (DEN) – 58 pts
  2. Agata Barwinska (POL) – 59 pts
  3. Vasileia Karachaliou (GRE) – 82 pts
  4. Viktorija Andrulyte (LTU) – 83 pts
  5. Emma Plasschaert (BEL) – 86 pts

ILCA 6 Men’s

  1. ALMuatasim Al Farsi (OMA) – 16 pts
  2. Nik Pletikos (SLO) – 17 pts
  3. Umut Eyriparmak (TUR) – 21 pts
  4. AbdulMalik Al Hinai (OMA) –23 pts
  5. Karel Ratnik (EST) – 42 pts